Accompanying Spouse, First Posting: Hong Kong
Leave a Comment

Ladies who brunch

The ladies

One of the first things I searched for before being posted in Hong Kong is an organization that caters to diplospouses in particular. There was none. I met my counterparts at random through my Cantonese class and diplomatic functions, but I was longing for something more regular than that.

Last Tuesday, I found my self preparing for a ladies’ coffee morning primarily organized by the wives of the consuls general of Indonesia, Brunei and Myanmar. It was going to be my first diplomatic function without Mr. Diplomat, and I did not let my third trimester blues get in the way.

That morning, I met some 40 new faces of the diplomatic corps, the wives of consuls, honorary consuls general, consuls general and heads of missions. My composure was specifically starstruck (not quite obviously, I hope) by having been able to chat with three women who belong to a family that Mr. Diplomat and I were recently watching about in The Biography Channel. Of specific interest were the wives of honorary consuls general as I found it amusing knowing their life stories on how they earned the title.

I am hoping that this will be the first of many. I made sure to send a thank you note, crossing my fingers to get invited again.

Dialogue

